home | north bay bohemian index | music & nightlife | band review


2009 North Bay Music Awardees

The votes are in!

By Gabe Meline

Last Wednesday, Oct. 21, at Hopmonk Tavern in Sebastopol, the envelopes were ripped, the gold record awards distributed, and we announced the winners of the fifth annual North Bay Music Awards.

Thanks to all who came out to the Hopmonk Tavern and made it such a sweet evening, and thanks especially to the George Marsh Quartet, Arann Harris and the Greenstring Farm Band and Body or Brain (whose lead singer Jakey Lee is seen leaping up) for playing; to Noah D for keeping it live on the turntables; to Ricky Watts for doing live painting and helping raise hundreds of dollars for Face to Face and Food for Thought; to Brian Griffith and Bill Bowker from the KRSH 95.9-FM for presenting; and to the Hopmonk itself for having us back for another great year.

This year, we had over 2,000 people vote in categories that were sometimes very, very close. We're lucky to have such a wealth of talent in the North Bay, and we salute everyone—winners, nominees and non-nominees all—who continue to enrich the breeding ground of excellent music in the area.

Without further ado, then . . .

Blues / R&B Michael Barclay • Bonafide Blue • Linda Ferro • SoulShine Blues Band• Volker Strifler

Winner: Volker Strifler

Country / Americana Aaran Harris and the Greenstring Farm Band • Poor Man's Whiskey • Kevin Russell • Stiff Dead Cat • Trailer Park Rangers

Winner: Poor Man's Whiskey

Dance / DJ DJ Amen• DJ Jacques • DJ Malarkey • DJ Noah D • DJ Rob Cervantes

Winner: DJ Noah D

Folk / Acoustic Mr. December • Pink Sabbath • Serf & James • Peter Tracy • Way-to-Go Joes

Winner: Mr. December

Rap / Hip-Hop Ant D.O.G. • At All Costs • Cavity • Latin Hyper • Truthlive

Winner: At All Costs

Jazz Jason Bodlovich • George Marsh • Stephanie Ozer • Jackie Ryan • Wesla Whitfield

Winner: Jason Bodlovich

Indie Rock / Punk Baby Seal Club • Body or Brain • Litany for the Whale • Not to Reason Why • Semi-Evolved Simians

Winner: Baby Seal Club

Rock / Metal Motogruv • David Nelson • the Pulsators • the Spindles • the Thugz

Winner: The Pulsators

World / Reggae Gator Beat • Markus James • Tom Rigney • Sol Horizon • Zydeco Flames

Winner: Zydeco Flames

See ya'll next year!

Send a letter to the editor about this story.